Residential Facilities


Types of Residential Facilities

Community Care Licensed Facilities
There are four types of Community Care Licensed facilities that can potentially be vendored by Regional Center of the East Bay.

  • The Small Family Home (SFH);
  • Group Home for Children (GHC);
  • Adult Residential Facility (ARF);
  • Residential Care for the Elderly (RCFE).

Each is licensed by the California Department of Social Services. Support services and training toward independence is provided in the home. Having a Community Care License does not guarantee that an applicant will qualify for vendorization.

Health Care Facilities
Health Care facilities are licensed by the State Department of Health Services and are designed to support people who, in addition to their developmental disability, have nursing or self-care needs. There are two different types of Health Care Facilities, also known as Intermediate Care Facilities (ICF) licensed by the State Department of Health Services:

  • ICF/DDH – Developmentally Disabled/Habilitative
  • ICF/DDN – Developmentally Disabled-Nursing.

Experience Required

Potential vendors (licensees and administrators) must provide proof of paid experience providing direct supervision and special services to people with developmental disabilities.


Per Title 17, direct supervision means those activities in which direct care staff provide care, supervision, training and support to promote the consumer’s functioning in the areas of self-care, daily living skills, physical coordination, mobility, behavioral self-control, choice-making, community integration, accessing community resources and participating in leisure time activities. 

Per Title 17, special services means specialized training, treatment, and/or supervision which are required by the consumer’s IPP and provided by direct care staff in addition to direct supervision. 

Administrators of licensed residential services must, per Title 17, Section 56033 and 56037 (d) (1), (e) (1), and (f) (1), respectively possess the following: 

  • At least 6 months prior experience and Direct Care Staff Competency-Based Training (DSP 1 and DSP 2) to provide level 2 services
  • At least 9 months prior experience and Direct Care staff Competency-Based Training (DSP 1 and DSP 2) to provide level 3 services
  • At least 12 months prior experience and Direct Care Staff Competency-Based Training (DSP 1 and DSP 2) to provide level 4 services

*Please note: RCEB expects the Licensee to also meet the experience requirements*

Service Levels

Community Care Licensed Residential Care Facilities are vendored based on a service level system. Homes are vendored at Level 2, 3, or 4 A-I. A home will only be vendored to provide one level of service. Consumers choose placements in Community Care Facilities based on preferences for where the home is located, availability of single rooms, the number of people who live in the facility, and level of care the consumer requires. Consumers most frequently choose to live in an apartment, with friends, with family or other living options.

Community Care Facilities (CCFs) are licensed by the Community Care Licensing Division of the State Department of Social Services to provide 24-hour non-medical residential care to children and adults with developmental disabilities who are in need of personal services, supervision, and/or assistance essential for self-protection or sustaining the activities of daily living. Based upon the types of services provided and the persons served, each CCF vendored by a regional center is designated one of the following service levels:

  • SERVICE LEVEL 1: Limited care and supervision for persons with self-care skills and no behavior problems. RCEB does not vendor Level 1 homes.
  • SERVICE LEVEL 2: Care, supervision, and incidental training for persons with some self-care skills and no major behavior problems.
  • SERVICE LEVEL 3: Care, supervision, and ongoing training for persons with significant deficits in self-help skills, and/or some limitations in physical coordination and mobility, and/or disruptive or self-injurious behavior.
  • SERVICE LEVEL 4: Care, supervision, and professionally supervised training for persons with deficits in self-help skills, and/or severe impairment in physical coordination and mobility, and/or severely disruptive or self-injurious behavior. Service Level 4 is subdivided into Levels 4A through 4I, in which staffing levels are increased to correspond to the escalating severity of disability levels.

Service level description from DDS Website: 08/20/09

If you meet the above mentioned experience requirements, please submit a Letter of Intent with the following information: The type of facility (i.e. Small Family Home, Group Home, Adult Residential Facility, Residential Care Facility-Elderly, and ICF/DDN or H)

  • Your area of specialization related to our Identified Needs listed on the RCEB website;
  • The level of service to be provided;
  • The number of people you hope to serve;
  • The non-ambulatory capacity of the facility (please indicate whether this includes wheelchairs);
  • The facility address
  • The floor plan for the facility with interior room dimensions clearly labeled in feet and inches;
  • A copy of your Community Care License from the State of California Department of Social services per Title 17, Section 56004 (a)
  • Resume(s) and letter(s) of reference for licensee and administrator. Resume and Letters of Reference must verify the experience of the licensee and administrator providing supervision and special services for people with developmental disabilities. Resumes must also reflect experience in your specialty area, based on our identified needs.

Please send Letters of Intent to: Regional Center of East Bay Attn: Senior Resource Specialist, 500 Davis St. Suite 100, San Leandro, CA 94577. RCEB will respond, in writing, to your letter of intent in at least 45 days, please do not call to inquire about status of your letter. 

Once we receive your Letter of Intent, it will be reviewed in at least 45 days. If you submit all necessary information and meet necessary experience requirements, then the following steps will apply in the order listed:

  • Attend Residential Orientation per Title 17, Section 56003(b)(1),(2) (this is held semi-annually and is by invitation only after completing step 1)
  • After you attend the residential orientation, you will be asked to submit a program design for review that presents the actual services you will provide and meets all of the requirements of Title 17, Section 56001-56059 and 56710-56756; the Lanterman Act and Title 22 in addition to RCEB requirements. You will receive a program design checklist indicating all necessary sections. Please note that it will take at least 45 days for RCEB to complete first assessment of program design. It is possible that revisions to program design will be needed.

NOTE: If program design is not able to meet requirements after three submissions, vendorization process will be discontinued.

  • Once program design has been approved, RCEB tours the home per Title 17, Section 50603 (a)(2)
  • Submit a completed copy of the RCEB vendor application packet. NOTE: RCEB will only accept a vendor application packet after all requirements above are completed and approved.